navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Bayhawks Announce 23-Man Protected List

March 18, 2016
Ten Players Released as Bayhawks Reach 23-Man Roster Deadline


Annapolis, MD. --The Chesapeake Bayhawks of Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced their 23-man protected roster today according to President and Head Coach Brendan Kelly and General Manager Spencer Ford. The MLL required that all 6 teams submit their 23-man rosters no later than 12:00pm on Friday, September 24 th. The remaining players were released into the MLL Player Pool.

The Bayhawks roster totaled 33 players including those on the inactive roster, injured reserve, or Did-Not-Report list. According to MLL rules, all rosters must be reduced to 23 players by the designated deadline. The Bayhawks released ten players to comply with the deadline: attackmen Andrew “Buggs” Combs, Josh Coveleski, Chazz Woodson and Cooper MacDonnell, midfielder Ben DeFelice, defensemen Shawn Nadelen, Michael Simon, Nick O’Hara and Michael Jarvis and goalie Michael Levin.

Chesapeake Bayhawks 2010 standouts Joe Cinosky, Kyle Dixon, Michael Evans, Chris Garrity, Alex Smith, and Peet Poillon were all retained on the Bayhawks roster.

“We have a fantastic group of young men who are hungry to defend their title,” said Ford. “It’s never easy letting guys go that have worked so hard, but we are happy and very excited for the 2011 MLL Season to begin.”

Kelly is also very excited about the outlook for the 2011 season roster: “We are a young, enthusiastic, and talented team and next season we will be ready to defend our title as MLL Champions.”

The MLL has no free-agency for players and a unique system for allowing players to change teams. At the conclusion of each MLL season, teams are required to protect 23 of their players, and all others are released into the MLL Player Pool, which is frozen until the Supplemental Draft. During the draft, each team selects seven players from the Player Pool bringing the total roster number up to 30. Teams have the option of filling their roster to 35 players immediately or hosting an open tryout to round out the 35-Man Roster. Teams are required to reduce their rosters back to 23 players by the conclusion of spring practices leading up to the start of the summer season.


Bayhawks 23-Man Protected Roster

Matt Abbott – Midfield

Brian Carroll – Attack

Joe Cinosky – Defense

Same DeVore – Defense

Kyle Dixon – Midfield

Michael Evans – Defense

Chris Garrity – Goalie

Danny Glading – Attack

Kyle Hartzell – Defense

Ben Hunt – Midfield

Michael Kimmel – Midfield

Ray Megill – Defense

Brian Phipps – Goalie

Peet Poillon – Midfield

Jeff Reynolds – Midfield

PT Ricci – Defense

Ben Rubeor – Attack

Jeremy Sieverts – Midfield

Alex Smith – Midfield

Brian Vetter – Midfield

Kyle Wimer – Midfield

Jeff Zywicki - Attack


Bayhawks season tickets are available now. To order your 2011 Season Tickets, please contact a ticket representative by phone at 866-99-HAWKS or visit

For all media relations, please contact Lindsey Burns at .