navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

All-Star Teams set for Saturday

March 18, 2016
CHARLOTTE, N.C. (Friday, July 12) - Major League Lacrosse held the All-Star Team selection on Friday Night at American Legion memorial Stadium in advance of the All-Star Game, presented by Moe’s Southwest Grill, on Saturday, July 13 at 7 p.m.

The MLL Ultimate Fan Fantasy winners, Cameron MacKenzie and Frank Ranfone, selected the players for teams Eclipse and Supernova in a playground-style process. MacKenzie is the honorary captain of the Eclipse, coached by Bayhawks head coach Dave Cottle, and Ranfone is the honorary captain of the Supernova, coached by Hounds top man Mike Cerino. Team Eclipse won the coin toss, earning them the first selection in the draft and the home field advantage.


Mackenzie selected New York Lizards faceoff specialist Greg Gurenlian first overall, while Ranfone and team Supernova countered by taking the other faceoff man in the All-Star Game, Anthony Kelly of Denver.


The team captains continued to focus on the specialized positions with MacKenzie selecting New York’s Drew Adams as a goalie for team Eclipse. Ranfone responded by selecting another goalie, Denver’s Jesse Schwartzman. The Eclipse picked up Brett Queener, a goalie from Hamilton, with its third pick.


Team Supernova used its third pick to select the first attackman of the draft, Denver’s Chris Bocklet. MacKenzie countered by selecting an attackman of his own, Rob Pannell of the Lizards.

After these initial offensive picks, the team captains began to differ in strategy. MacKenzie selected defensive players like Brodie Merrill (Hamilton) and Lee Zink (Denver) for the Eclipse, while Ranfone focused on the midfield, picking up players like Kevin Crowley (Hamilton) and Peet Poillon (Charlotte).


Both captains said they were pleased with their selections and are excited for the game.

“We have good team chemistry,” Ranfone said, “a lot of people that will work well together. Three of our attackmen are from Virginia, so they have chemistry from college.”


Ranfone also stated that he expects big games from Chris Bocklet and Peet Poillon.


MacKenzie echoed Ranfone’s sentiment. “We definitely have a solid roster, a lot of team players. I’m really looking forward to seeing these guys play. It’ll definitely be a good game tomorrow.”


The 2013 All-Star Game allows the world’s top lacrosse talent to all play on the same field, putting on a spectacular show in the annual exhibition game. To attend the game and watch as MLL’s best players become the Eclipse and the Supernova, visit the All-Star page for more info. If you can’t make it to the game in Charlotte, you can catch all the action, including the halftime skills competition, on ESPN2 starting at 7 p.m.


Full All-Star Team Rosters:


Team Eclipse

Drew Adams (G, New York), Steven Brooks (M, Chesapeake), Ned Crotty (A, Rochester), Ryan Flanagan (D, Charlotte), Zack Greer (M, Denver), Greg Gurenlian (FO, New York), Mike Manley (D, Rochester), Brodie Merrill (D, Hamilton), Tommy Palasek (A, New York), Rob Pannell (A, New York), Brett Queener (G, Hamilton), John Ranagan (M, Rochester), Mike Sawyer (M, Charlotte), Jeremy Sievers (M, Denver), Drew Snider (M, Denver), Matt Striebel (M, Rochester), Kyle Sweeney (D, Boston), Ryan Young (A, Charlotte), Lee Zink (D, Denver)


Team Supernova

Matt Abbott (M, Chesapeake), Chris Bocklet (A, Denver), Kevin Buchanan (M, Boston), Kevin Crowley (M, Hamilton), Kevin Cunningham (A, Hamilton), Barney Ehrmann (D, Chesapeake), Michael Evans (D, Chesapeake), Kyle Hartzell (D, Ohio), Brian Karalunas (D, New York), Anthony Kelly (FO, Denver), Jordan MacIntosh (M, Rochester), Peet Poillon (M, Charlotte), Ben Rubeor (A, Chesapeake), Brett Schmidt (D, Charlotte), Jesse Schwartzman (G, Denver), Steele Stanwick (A, Ohio), Mike Stone (M, Boston), Kip Turner (G, Chesapeake), Joe Walters (M, Hamilton)